King of Mass Effect (with a platinum crown)

Yesterday, I earned my second platinum trophy from PlayStation.

[pause for applause, smile humbly and wave at the crowd]

It should have been my first platinum. I’m not certain when I began playing Mass Effect. Judging by the dates on the trophies earned, it was on or about February 22, 2013. So, three-and-a-half years ago, or thereabouts, after I downloaded the game to my PS3. I had played Mass Effect 2 first and had enjoyed the universe it created and the characters it contained. Playing Mass Effect opened the universe even more for me.

So, I’ve played the game, off and on, for more than three years. Along the way, I earned trophies, which meant very little to me until I realized that it was conceivable that I could earn all of them. I played as several different Shepard characters, in all classes. I earned every trophy possible until only two remained. Really, only one. I had to finish a single playthrough on the Insanity setting, which would earn the trophy for that accomplishment, and, in turn, would earn the platinum for getting every trophy. That’s what I did yesterday.

It wasn’t my first platinum. That was for Fallout 4, something I’ve already written about here. That one took about six months or so.

This one took three-and-a-half years, and it’s a series I have enjoyed much more than the Fallout one. Apologies to my baby brother, because Fallout is his jam, even if he hasn’t earned a platinum trophy for it (humble brag). You may be able to understand why my second platinum is more important to me.

While understanding that plans can change, my plan is now to earn platinum trophies for Mass Effect 2 and Mass Effect 3. Before Mass Effect: Andromeda is released, if this is possible (it may not be).

As far as life goals go, it’s not much. It’s what I have at the moment.

Leave a Reply

