Philip Seymour Hoffman and Me

I had a lot of respect for the actor Philip Seymour Hoffman. That should be understood from the start here. I still respect his body of work. He was one of our finest character actors. I’ve seen him in many of his movies, including Twister, Boogie Nights and The Big Lebowski. Oh, and Scent of a Woman and Along Came Polly. If I continue to think about it, I’m sure there were others. Seems like he was the villain in one of those Mission Impossible movies, too.

When he died of what was termed acute drug intoxication in 2014, I was saddened by the news. We were about the same age. In fact, he was a couple of years younger. I am always saddened when I hear about the deaths of talented performers whom I’ve admired, and especially so when it’s something like suicide or drugs.

My sadness wasn’t the result of personal contact with Hoffman. I never met the man. And, as should be obvious from the puny list of movies I wrote above, I am far from a noted authority on his work.

We do, however, have another connection.

The jury is in. I look like Philip Seymour Hoffman.

This is based on the opinions of only two people, but they were two people who didn’t know one another. The first was one of my co-workers, a mail carrier at the Post Office where I work. The second, in recent weeks, was a customer I waited on at the same Post Office, at the window. She pulled up Hoffman’s photo on her iPhone and showed it to the clerk I was working with at the window, and she also agreed. So, I guess that makes it the opinion of three people.

Once, a couple of years ago, a sandwich artist at Subway told me I looked like Adam Savage from that Mythbusters show. I guess there’s a similar color palette there. Since I’ve begun to go gray, my hair is more strawberry-blond than red these days. My body type lends itself more to Hoffman-esque proportions, though. I have to face it: I look like Philip Seymour Hoffman.

Here’s the thing. When you’re told that you resemble a celebrity, you would rather it was someone like George Clooney or The Rock or….well, you get the picture.

Nope. I get Philip Seymour Hoffman.

Could be worse, I guess. Steve Buscemi, maybe. Or, Paul Giamatti. No offense intended to Steve or Paul, who are both still alive and seem to be great guys.

Leave a Reply

