Why I Stopped Watching Star Wars: The Clone Wars

After watching fourteen episodes of The Clone Wars animated series, I’ve decided to bail on it.

This isn’t a review of the show. It’s fine, really. I actually like the character design and the computer-generated effects. There are some truly exciting sequences. There’s plenty of stuff to satisfy the Star Wars nerd inside most of us

After a few weeks of watching two episodes per week, I found myself putting off watching these short episodes until after I’d watched everything else on my list. I had to ask myself why.

It’s about depth of story for me really. In spite of some really cool stuff in the episodes, there doesn’t seem to be any real continuity of story. Instead, we get little two- and three-episode story arcs. I understand that this series is set in that weird interstitial between prequel movies, and as story filler in a much grander arc, we shouldn’t expect much serialized storytelling. And I didn’t.

However, I found myself wanting it. There’s a reason I prefer longer shows over this one. Most of the shows that I like are highly serialized. The Star Trek shows maybe less so, at least so far, but the rest are. Characters change, for better or worse. Sometimes they even die. There is no real status quo. And, I can’t always predict what’s going to happen.

With The Clone Wars, I already know what’s going to happen. And I’ve discovered that this matters to me.

Leave a Reply

