Afterbuzz TV Network: a podcast review

AfterBuzzTV_Logo

 

These days, Afterbuzz TV offers both video and audio content online, but I discovered this network in the form of audio podcasts.

E! host Maria Menounos and producer Kevin Undergaro originally created the Afterbuzz TV network as a place to discuss AMC’s Breaking Bad, as an aftershow. It has since grown to cover more than 450 television series, past and present, including more than 90 current weekly shows. The network averages 23 million audio downloads weekly, and 1.3 million video hits. It’s safe to say that this little side project has been a hit.

I found the Afterbuzz shows while surfing for podcasts about some of my favorite television shows. I really enjoyed watching Chris Hardwick on Talking Dead after each episode of AMC’s The Walking Dead, and was looking for the podcast equivalent for other shows. It turned out that Afterbuzz TV offered the most consistent product for what I wanted.

I began listening to all the Afterbuzz podcasts about the DC Comics shows on the CW: Flash, Arrow, Supergirl, and DC’s Legends of Tomorrow. I soon branched out to Gotham and Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD. Then the Marvel shows on Netflix, as each was released. Well, I started listening long after Daredevil was dropped, and I never listened to those, but I listened to all of Jessica Jones, Luke Cage, and Iron Fist. There have been others, including Better Call Saul, and, still, I’ve barely scratched the surface of all that Afterbuzz TV offers.

What I like about the Afterbuzz shows is what I’ve discovered that I like about podcasting in general. I like to listen to people talking about things I like to watch. It’s the community of fandom, a sense of sharing something with other like-minded people that you can’t always get where you live. The internet has made the world a smaller place in many ways: This is one of those ways.

The podcasts I have listened to are generally hosted by a panel of people, many of whom appear on many different podcasts. There have been occasions when the panel members talk over each other or blow out the sound levels with uncontrollable laughter, but mostly they communicate a sense of enthusiasm. I don’t always agree with comments made by some of the podcasters, often wondering if we’re watching the same shows. That’s okay, too. I even like it when the panel members argue about things among themselves. It’s what real people do. I rarely will stop listening to an individual episode once I’ve begun listening to it. There are a couple of hosts who I don’t like at all, but I’m not going to name names today, because these are the exceptions and not the rule.

If you love TV, and you love podcasts, I’m sure you’ll find something at Afterbuzz TV network to love as well.

Leave a Reply

