Adventures in Reading (Or, a brief digression about changes in reading habits as they relate to age and technology, and a personal anecdote that makes me look very bad)


I began reading early, at age four or five.

I give most of the credit to my parents, who were both readers. My dad had some paperbacks in his duffel bag that looked a lot more interesting than those that my mom read.

Richard S. Prather, Mickey Spillane, John D. MacDonald . . . with lurid covers usually depicting a voluptuous woman in various stages of undress. That’s what I wanted to read. Who cares what Dick, Spot and Jane were up to? I want to see if that man in silhouette, holding a gun, is a good guy or a bad guy.

Whatever credit is left over belongs to me. I learned how to read early because I was driven by some internal mechanism to gain knowledge on every subject I knew little about. At age four or five, there was a lot I didn’t know, and I knew that I didn’t know it. I had friends and playmates my age—or even older—who didn’t share my thirst for knowledge. They weren’t, in fact, aware that they needed to learn anything.

That pursuit of knowledge was my defining characteristic for many years. Perhaps it still is. When you can’t read, it feels like a big part of the human experience is denied to you. In those pre-personal computer days, all of that knowledge was accessed primarily through the printed page. Newspapers, magazines and books. And these were kept at the library.

With the aid of my mom, I took to reading like a duck takes to oranges. I was reading adult books while I was in grammar school. I learned a lot, from both fiction and nonfiction. I was a reader. And I read a lot.

Years later, I was on a first date with a nice young lady. The date went well—and honestly we went on a couple of additional dates after the first—but I knew our relationship was doomed when she asked me how many books I had read.

Not how many I’d read that month or year. How many books I had read during my lifetime.

There was no way I could answer that question truthfully. In the beginning, I didn’t keep track of what I read. Honestly, I don’t think I could have much in common with someone who could answer that question.

Also, I knew that my date wouldn’t be impressed that my number was unknowably high. It was that whole looking-like-a-nerd thing.

I mumbled something noncommittal and asked her if she was doing something different with her hair in order to change the subject. It worked.

We went on a couple of additional dates, until I made her cry in a shopping mall without even trying. In a Belk department store in Shelby, North Carolina, to be exact. You see, she had stopped to look at china patterns. I was young and stupid in the ways of romance, so I saw no red flags in this at all. She told me that her husband was going to have to like this certain pattern, something floral and colorful that I’d hesitate to cover with food.

All I said was, “I hope you two are happy together.”

It was a kneejerk, smartass response that would have gone over well with my friends. A wisecrack.

It was our third date, man.

When she began to cry softly, her face transformed into an ugly mask, I did my best to make it up to her. It was a stupid, insensitive thing for me to say. I mean it was only our third date and she was picking out china patterns with me, but, still, that’s no reason for me to callously play with some sweet girl’s feelings.

I knew that I wasn’t meant to be with someone that sensitive. That emotional. If I could make her cry without trying, what was going to happen when I got really mean. I mean, it happens in any relationship. In my experience, I should add. I’m sure your relationship is the exception.

Like the coward I was, after I got home the night of our third date, I wrote her a letter pulling the plug on our couplehood. I was supposed to meet her parents the following weekend, and I decided to spare everyone involved. Better that her parents hated me before they met me.

Yes, I know how this makes me look.

I admit that I was self-centered and sometimes lacking in empathy. I think I’ve gotten better. Depends upon who you ask, I warrant.

You have to remember that this was in the days before emails and texts were a real thing. An honest, handwritten letter may seem too formal and fancy to some of you these days, but, trust me, it was pure cowardice.

I did follow it up with a phone call.

No, that’s a lie.

She called me, crying again, when she received the “Dear Jane” letter. We spoke over the phone for far too long, while what I had hoped would be a quick pulling-off of the Band-Aid turned into a tortuously slow, agonizing process. I hardened my heart even while I blamed our incompatibility on myself. She was too good for me.

I’m not a total cad. I didn’t mention her looking at china patterns when we’d never even told each other we loved each other.

I also never mentioned how I felt about her knowing exactly how many books she’d read in her lifetime. It wasn’t a very big number.

So, I’ve read a lot, in most of the Dewey Decimal classes. But the truth is, I’ve noticed as I’ve gotten older that I’m reading less. It’s not because my thirst for knowledge has been slaked. I’ve gained some wisdom over the years, in the way that Socrates interpreted wisdom. The more I read, and the more I learned, the more I became certain that I know nothing.

I’m still a reader. During the twelve months between October 2022 and October 2023, I’ve read only twenty-three books. Not even two books per month. With considerable shame, I’ll even admit that a healthy percentage of these were comic book collections. If you’re not a reader, this may seem like a lot to you. Most of you real readers out there, you heavy-hitters you, you turn your nose up at such a paltry sum. You’re reading that many books each month.

I get it. That used to be me. I went through books like the Cookie Monster goes through cookies.

I understand some of what’s happened. Technology has finally begun to catch up to me. I invest more time watching television series and movies, even on my iPhone, than I do reading. Also, video games on my Playstation 4.

Like most of us, I learn best through stories and anecdotes. I’ve always joked that story is my drug of choice. A lot of that is fictional stories. But the best documentaries purposefully tell stories as well. Just as when I was a child, I can learn from fiction and nonfiction. Using the various streaming services to watch videos is like mainlining stories. An almost utterly passive activity. Just as in reading, though, I can pause a story wherever I decide, placing a virtual bookmark in my place and closing the covers.

I write a little bit as well. That takes some time away from reading.

It turns out that this isn’t really an uncommon experience. Lawrence Block, one of my all-time favorite crime and mystery authors, once wrote an article for Writer’s Digest magazine about his own reading habits slowing as he got older. So that’s at least one other person who has experienced this phenomenon.

Of course, Block doesn’t blame streaming videos or the PS4 for slowing down his reading. He just spends more time writing his own original stuff.

I can’t really use that excuse.

13 thoughts on “Adventures in Reading (Or, a brief digression about changes in reading habits as they relate to age and technology, and a personal anecdote that makes me look very bad)

  1. I’ve wondered if this will happen to me as well. I suspect it will take me getting serious about another hobby, like I was about anime in my 20s when I’d only read 50-60 books a year.

    Sounds like you dodged a bullet w Young Miss. It takes a particular kind of guy to deal the very emotional type.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yet another example of our convergent evolution. Grandma had me reading at three. She used to read me the funny papers as I’d follow along. I was far too young to get the humor and to this day I don’t openly laugh at comedic writing. I was reading above my grade level in grammar school, but I don’t think I was reading anything written for adults yet. I just remember suffering in agony as my 1st grade classmates struggled through “See Spot run.”

    As I sit at my desk I’m looking at a wall of several hundred books on dozens of subjects and genres. At some point in my life, I’ve read them all. I, too, have virtually stopped reading; they decorate that wall beautifully, though! I’m an active member of Writing.com, and what I read are the short stories that are posted there at the rate of dozens a day. Written by independent authors who aren’t slaves to a publisher desperately trying to recreate the “Last Big Thing.” Nearly every one is a delight. I mean, how many clones of Lord of the Rings, Twilight, or Harry Potter can you sit through? The novels I used to read have been replaced by video games, and unless you’ve completed a game of Skyrim, Fallout, or Gears of War, don’t make yourself look foolish by belittling me for “wasting time.” These and hundreds of others like them are rich, innovative, visual novels in which you are the protagonist and make every decision in the narrative. There is no written book that can compare. After all, nothing changes if you read the same book twice, does it?

    Thanks for a wonderful, thought-provoking post. I had a ball!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m currently replaying ASSASSIN’S CREED: ODYSSEY, which is set in ancient Greece during the Peloponnesian War and features such guest-stars as Socrates, Hippokrates, and Aristophane, including a cameo by a youngster named Plato who hero-worships Socrates. The game is smart, fun and beautiful. A work of art in itself that non-gamers cannot appreciate. Sure, it has some broad fantasy moments that strain credibility, but where else are you going to get the opportunity to battle it out with a minotaur or a Gorgon?

      I get your point. Video games, television, movies, books . . . they are all story-delivery systems for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I experienced almost the exact opposite of your romance story at the outset of the article. Soon after I started dating a woman, she brought me home and showed me her bookshelves, which were two and three deep with everything from Anne McCaffery to Robert A. Heinlein to L. Frank Baum. Somehow I knew we were destined for each other and sure enough thirty-five years later we’re still together!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My 2 cents: what really matters is that we actually enjoy the books we read, not their yearly number; one of the things that turned me off GoodReads was the stress on individual book goals, as if quantity was more important than quality. So, what if we get some of our daily “ration” of stories through TV or movies? As long as we still look at books like something we enjoy, we should not worry too much…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the way you think. While my personal pathology does seem to be numbers-based, I never counted how many books I read when I was younger. I won’t hesitate to toss a book to the side if I’m not invested by at least the 25% mark, so the books that I finish reading may not all be “quality” in the truest sense of the word, they have some quality that keeps me reading, even if it’s purely entertainment value. I’ve decided that whoever said “life is short” was onto something.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice write-up! I find I read as much if not more than ever, but I’ve turned away from fiction, and especially contemporary fiction and spend more time reading history, politics, and the classics. I call it old-man reading syndrome. But I also read a lot of comics too so there’s that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This may mean nothing to anyone but me, but my personal philosophy (as if there’s any other kind) is that story is story, whether true or not. I also read a lot of history and non-fiction, and, yes, I am an old man. Another school of thought suggests that, once it’s recorded in actual human words, everything is fiction.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.